Dec. 7, 2009 - BANGALORE, India - Dr. T.G. Prabhashankar is pleased to announce his appointment to the prestigious Kendriya Hindi Samiti. Under the Chairmanship of Dr. Manmohan Singh, Prime Minister of India, the New Delhi-based committee will coordinate programs and initiatives that support the development, propagation and progressive use of Hindi for official use by the various ministries and departments within the government of India. Dr. Prabhashankar will serve on the committee for a three year term.
Kendriya Hindi Samiti is a 41 member, High Powered Committee focused on the promotion of Hindi as the official language of India. In addition to the Prime Minister, who will serve as Chairman, Mr. P. Chidambaram, Union Home Minister, will serve as Deputy Chairman. Dr. Prabhashankar will also join Chief Ministers from the states of Bihar, Rajasthan, Kerala, Punjab, Assam and Odisha, along with several eminent personalities on the committee, and is the only member from Karnataka state.
About Dr. T.G. Prabhashankar
Dr. T.G. Prabhashankar “Premi”, retired professor in Hindi from Bangalore University, has been working in the field of Hindi Literature for over 40 years and has authored more than 40 books in Hindi and Kannada. He has received numerous awards from the state of Karnataka and the country of India, including the 1997 ´Non-Hindi Speaking Hindi Writer‘ award from Central Hindi Directorate for his book “Hindi Kannada Sahithya Sampada”, presented by Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma former President of India. He was in the Government of India delegation and attended the eighth World Hindi Conference held in New York on the 13-15 of July, 2007. Dr. Prabhashankar writes under the pen name “Premi”.
# # #